Home > Army, Democracy, Na-Pak fauj, Politics, War > ‘Where is my son?’

‘Where is my son?’


More than 8,000 people have gone “missing” in Balochistan. These include political workers, children under the age of 14, girls under the age of 18. Does the PM really want to tell these people that there is no military offensive in Balochistan?

Can WE tell the Baloch that the Pakistani State is not fucking them over? Really?

Via a dear friend and journalist-par-excellence, Malik Siraj Akbar — the Balochistan Bureau Chief for Daily Times.

Do I ever feel like crying?
Yes.
When?
While meeting the missing persons’ families.
Everyone you can see in this picture has a sob story.
Everyone has a ‘missing person’ in his family.
This 63-year old Baloch on my right side says his son, Abdul Hayee, 20, has gone missing since August 29, 2009.
“How do you consol Hayee’s mom back home?” I asked.
“How can I? I am not good at handling my own tears. You see I am an old man now. When you get old, you become very sentimental which I am.”
Pause. Pause. Pause
Silence. Silence. Silence.
“Where is my son?” he asks.
“I don’t know, mama*,” I whisper.
Anguish. Frailty. Guilt.
(I met these families of the freshly disappeared people today in Sariab, Quetta).
*Mama = mother’s brother; a term of endearment for someone older.
  1. November 19, 2009 at 05:50

    Mr. Kambar Ali Baloch Saab writes: {{Hope all the missing persons are alive and soon some day shall come home.}}

    Kambar SAAB – ALLAH kare with you people struggle that DAY is VERY SOON – otherwise, HIS DAY will be day of judgment to award/reward all good doers and bad doers.

  2. November 18, 2009 at 22:01

    Urooj – very sorry of state – feel very depressed reading all this. When will we learn from our past mistakes? The deprived and oppressed people of Pakistan and especially from Sindh and Baluchistan need special immediate attention and our love. There is lot of mistrust and hate due to ruling elite totally ignoring the needs of these people. I don’t know what I can do for them. Please suggest. I think I need to study their pathetic condition more closely and then raise at all available forums. I am 100% with you, Urooj. We can’t afford more Bangladesh. (tears in my eyes)

  1. November 18, 2009 at 23:58

Leave a Reply

