Home > Home, Kathmandu, Nepal > Buff fried momos are evil people

Buff fried momos are evil people


I kid you not. They’re probably the souls of people who were assholes in their past lives. In other news, I’VE FOUND AN APARTMENT! YAY!!!

So the night before last, I woke up suddenly around 1:30 a.m. after having slept for around three hours, and realised that I couldn’t breathe. Turns out, I’d dutch-ovened myself in my sleep, thanks to the buff fried momos which I’d had for dinner earlier. I tried to go back to sleep. Couldn’t. So I faffed around for a while, and fell asleep again around 6:00 a.m., only to be woken up around 7:15 a.m. by a terrible-ass nightmare — thanks again to buff fried momos. Yes, they’re evil, and my case is solid. Completely airtight.

I didn’t try going back to sleep again because I had to go check out an apartment around 9:00 a.m. (before work). This was one of those ‘traditional’ inner-city places which have these interconnected compounds (I forgot what they’re called) which lead all over everywhere. Like, one apartment complex is built around a compound (covering all four sides); this compound connects via a gate with another compound, and so on. Each compound has an area called the “god house.” I was supposed to check out a top floor apartment in one of these complexes, because these apartments are exciting (I’m told that this is a kind of real estate which hasn’t really been explored yet) and they’re cheap. Plus, it was also VERY close to work.

Turned out to be a major disappointment. The apartment itself was very awesome — spacious room, living room, awesome terrace, view, etc; single-person lodging, semi-furnished (I’d just have to put in a bookshelf and TV). But from there on, it all went terribly downhill. The kitchen, restroom and bathroom (yes, separately) were all on the floor BELOW. Plus, the kitchen was tiny and ick! Ditto for the restroom and bathroom. And all of these were supposed to be shared — with families living on the floor below. Now the thing is, I wake up in the morning, tumble out of bed, trudge into the restroom, do my thang, by which time I’m relatively awake, get dressed, make coffee, and then get out of the house in semi-human shape. I don’t want to wake up in the morning, get out of my HOUSE technically, trip over kids and random strangers on the way to the restroom, and then wait in queue while my bladder threatens to explode and implode simultaneously.

Plus, the owner wouldn’t commit to a price, and this made me very uncomfortable. So I told him I’d let him know and came to work. The other real estate agent came in the evening. The place he had was two-bedroom, furnished, etc. We went and met the owners, saw the area, etc. I liked the owners (small family, very sweet), and the area is pretty. Today we went and saw the apartment itself. Its nice — two bedrooms, one large living room, a HUGE kitchen, a medium-sized restroom, balcony, terrace, etc, and a lovely view. We’re signing the contract on either Saturday or Sunday, so I’m not homeless anymore! YAY! :-D

This apartment, however, will be available from July 8. Meanwhile, I’ve booked a room at a guesthouse which is owned by a friend of my real estate agent. We checked that out today too, and it is awesome! It is near work, and near the apartment I’m getting. The room has a balcony and restroom, cupboards, a bookshelf, etc. There’s a communal living room, and a kitchen upstairs which is well-furnished with a fridge, microwave, filtered water, pots and pans, etc. A woman comes in between 9 and 6 who can cook and clean. The place also has cable and wifi! Cheap too, at NPR600 per day.

So I’ve asked a cab waalah (another friend of the estate agent) to come to my office at 6:30 p.m. We’ll go to Patan Darbar, check out of my current guesthouse, take my luggage to the new place and check in. They’ve already given me the keys to the main door and my room, so its all good. I’ll stay there till the 8th, and move into the apartment on the 9th.

M is coming in on the 5th, and she’ll probably share the place with me, so its all good.

The guesthouse that I was staying at (the one which I’ll check out of in the evening) is depressive! The room, while very cosy, is badly lit (just one tungsten bulb), no TV and no internet. Plus, at NPR1,000 per day, it is extremely, EXTREMELY expensive! Bless the office for covering that cost. :-)

I bought a pretty skirt, top, and a handmade rucksack yesterday — retail therapy FTW! And at NPR300 for the skirt, NPR200 for the top and NPR200 for the rucksack, it was all fairly cheap too! I’ll get chappals tomorrow to wear in case it rains. Oh and I need to get an umbrella too. On that note, why the FUCK is it NOT RAINING! The clouds are here, the weather is just right for rain, but! There’s NO RAIN! WHY WHY WHY!!! Dear god, if you exist, make it rain in Kathmandu, and I’ll think about maybe believing in you. ThanQ.

  1. June 29, 2010 at 22:20

    haaaa dutch oven!

  2. Jareer
    June 17, 2010 at 14:36

    Pictures?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

