Home > Kathmandu, Nepal, New Beginnings > Shot-en-freude

Shot-en-freude


I’m not homeless anymore! And it rained yesterday! Yay!

So my memory’s shot to bits. :-P In the khushiaN of moving to a guesthouse with a kitchen (details below), I decided to make breakfast in the morning. I went out and got biscuits and stuff to make tea. I made tea, and took the mug, the biscuits and my ciggies to the terrace. Then… I decided to take a sip of my tea… and spat it out. I’d forgotten to buy sugar. I mean, how absentminded can a person possibly be! I bought tea, milk, biscuits, toothpaste and ciggies, and came back and MADE tea — not realising at all that I’d forgotten to buy sugar. I know I’ll laugh at this once the acrid, non-sugared-tea-induced taste in my mouth goes away. :-P

On a happy note, it started raining yester-evening in Kathmandu – finally! The clouds had been fighting it out in the skies for the past few days. The monsoons that Nepal gets are easterly (from the direction of Assam), I’m told. The monsoons that Pakistan gets are westerly. Over the past couple of days, however, the two systems (easterly and westerly) had been fighting for the control of the skies – the clouds would move in one direction, and then the other the next time I looked up outside the window. The easterly system finally prevailed though, and it started raining last evening. Not sure how long it’ll last – a while I hope – and I need to buy an umbrella. The sun’s out in some places today, but I really, REALLY hope the clouds come back. Its too hot! Not as hot as Karachi of course, but stuffier. I want rain!

Which reminds me: dear god, I promised to maybe think about believing that you existed if it rained yesterday. It rained and I thought [about your existence], but I decided that it didn’t rain enough. So I don’t think you exist. So there! No hard feelings. *thumbs nose*

Meanwhile, I’ve shifted into the new guesthouse (the one near the office and the apartment that I’m getting from July 9). I haven’t explored the area yet, but the guesthouse itself is a huge step up from the previous one, even though it is much cheaper (half the price). So yes, if you’re looking for temporary places to stay in Kathmandu, don’t think about the Third World Guesthouse in the Patan Darbar Square, unless you want to live without a TV, internet, and a generator / UPS. While the owners [of Third World Guesthouse] are VERY nice people and my room there was very cosy and neat (not once was I terrorised by creepy crawlies), I like my internet and maybe a TV – especially if the room costs US$22 per night. Plus, they didn’t help me with my luggage yester-evening, so hmph!

Bless the cab waalah who did, though, but since I had only NPR700 to give him, and didn’t want him to be underpaid, I asked him to leave the luggage near the garage in this other guesthouse and I’d pull it up myself to my room on the first floor. Hello, cramps! :-P

This guesthouse is near Pulchowk in Lalitpur. The room is comfortable, has a balcony, is fursnished well – bed + side tables (or side-stools, more like) + desk + big cupboard + bookshelf + chairs + a fan. Well-lit too. Oh and the guesthouse also has a UPS. There’s a communal living room on this floor, and an ironing stand right outside my room. The kitchen is upstairs. Met the owner last night – he had come to drop off a guest from the UK. He’s nice – I feel like I’m getting repetitious here; every Nepali is nice to me. :-D

I woke up at 5:00 a.m. again, but the internet was not working, so I went out and explored a bit. I also found a cafe where a waiter moonlights as a real estate agent. He asked me to get in touch with him in case I didn’t like the apartment that I’m getting. Hmmmm! I got lost on the way to work too — many times. So I decided to use my “lost-ness” and shop. Much fun. :-P Bought a sarong, two shirts, an ashtray and a Buddha pendant. My paycheque from the previous workplace has come through (the money will be here by Monday, methinks), so I’m feeling fairly rich at the moment. Hahahhahah! :-P

  1. Akshay
    June 18, 2010 at 10:59

    “Over the past couple of days, however, the two systems (easterly and westerly) had been fighting for the control of the skies – the clouds would move in one direction, and then the other the next time I looked up outside the window. The easterly system finally prevailed though, and it started raining last evening.”

    hahahaha! scene from the mahabharata…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

